Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SudoNym Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2006, 12:40 PM
    Both Independent Contractor and Employee?
    I work as a marketing assistant for a real estate company, I get a base salary that the company pays, and on top of that I get a "commission bonus" from the specific agents I work for that is paid directly out of pocket by those agents. The commission bonus is based on what those agents themselves make and is attributed to the work I put into helping them close deals. The commission bonus is typically paid by the on a 1099 while my base salary is paid on a W-2.

My question is is this legal to be paid as both an independent contractor and an employee for doing the same job? I'd really rather not pay the extra taxes for the money I get on the 1099. I feel like I should be fully classified as an employee because I don't have any autonomy in my work schedule and must report back to my agents on projects. Not sure what to do.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 31, 2006, 02:12 PM
    I'm pretty confident it is legal. The company is paying you a salary. The agents are paying you the bonus.

I'm not sure why you think you are paying "extra taxes". Unless you file a Schedule C (which may be more tax advantageous to you), the 1099s would just be lumped into gross income.

If you are concerned about witholding, I suggest you talk to the company's payroll department. They can provide you estimates so that you can self withhold and file quaerterly estimates.
    SudoNym Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2006, 04:23 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem
    I'm pretty confident it is legal. The company is paying you a salary. The agents are paying you the bonus.

I'm not sure why you think you are paying "extra taxes". Unless you file a Schedule C (which may be more tax advantageous to you), the 1099s would just be lumped into gross income.