Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cherijose Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 9, 2009, 02:27 PM
    Tax filing - Contract position on OPT - F1 visa
    I am a graduate student currently on an F1 visa and will have an H1B visa from October onwards. I graduated December 07 and worked on a contract position from 18th April 09 to 11th September 09. The company pays me an hourly rate and does not deduct taxes from my payment.

I will move 14th September onwards to another company on a full time position with an pre decided annual salary and biweekly pay and tax deductions.

How should I go about filing my taxes especially for the months I was on my OPT on F1 visa? Should I be paying medicare and social security taxes for this period too?

Thanks,
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Sep 9, 2009, 10:09 PM

If you are not married, then for 2009 you will file nonresident tax return with Form 8843.
    You have OPT income as independent contractor, which you will report on schedule C or C-EZ (form 1040). In your case, this income is not subject to SE tax.
    Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Sep 11, 2009, 12:48 PM
    Note that SE (self-employment) tax is the equivalent of FICA (Social Security and Medicare) taxes, which the self-employed pay under Schedule SE.

Because you are exempt from FICA (Social Security and Medicare) taxes, you are also exempt from SE taxes.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Position of a L2 visa holder after divorce [ 1 Answers ]