Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Krs Posts: 2,906, Reputation: 320
    Ultra Member

Sep 3, 2009, 11:56 PM
    New home business
    Hi there, I live on a small island... and there is plenty of competition with businesses, any type of businesses.
    Would anyone have an idea for a unique home business?

I have a degree in Business Management and my husband is self-emp electrician..

Any ideas what I can do with not many overheads?

Im tired of being employed... I feel I can do more.

Thanks
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 4, 2009, 02:50 AM

Krs, in this economy I want to be employed. I do two jobs, one is casual and on call after hours. It works for me. I have a stained glass business I barely have time for cause can't commit to a commission and the time it takes. That is my home business.

Unless you have a real money making idea for home based business that will get off the ground fast and make you the money you need, replacing what you woulld have made being employed, then great go for it. Like you say though, there is plenty of competition where you are, and basically all over the place. Everyone thinks working from home is the best approach when actually it does require a lot of thought and planning... and discipline, especially when you are close to the kitchen.

Do more then, do both, If you manage right you can still have time for yourself.

Tick
    Krs Posts: 2,906, Reputation: 320
    Ultra Member

Sep 4, 2009, 02:53 AM
    I wish there could be more I could do for my husband.. to make more money where I can help.. but not sure what I can do to expand his business...
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 4, 2009, 03:02 AM
    [QUOTE=Krs;1962142]I wish there could be more I could do for my husband.. to make more money where I can help.. but not sure what I can do to expand his business... [/QUOTE