Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

Aug 18, 2009, 01:01 AM
    Cover Letter inadequate
    Hi there, I need a little help sprucing up my cover letter. I found the job I've been drooling over for 6 years and I'm applying but figured that my resume needed a face-lift. PLEASE HELP!

Here it is in its current state:

Cherish A. Lastnamington
    1234 S. Yourmom Rd.
    Vancouver, WA 98664
    (360) 555-2345

Dear Employer:

I am enclosing a resume for your review. Please consider this letter as my formal application presenting my background, education and experience.

I have considerable work experience for someone my age. I work well with people and enjoy getting the work at hand completed. I am a hard worker and take pride in whatever I do.

May I arrange an interview to further discuss my qualifications? I am available for an interview at a mutually convenient time. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Cherish A. Lastnamington
    (Enclosure)
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Aug 18, 2009, 01:30 AM
    Hi, Momma!

Let's work on this!

Here's how I would suggest beginning and wording a cover letter so that it sounds the most professional. I'm assuming that your contact information as well as your name are fictitious. At least what I've typed below could be a start.

Cherish A. Lastnamington
    1234 S. Yourmom Rd.
    Vancouver, WA 98664
    (360) 555-2345
    The above would be your contact information. It would be your letterhead.

Next, please put the date of the letter. This could be centered or left-justified.

Next, please put the name and address to whom it is to be sent. These would be left-justified.

Dear Employer: (Using the colon is okay.) (It would be best to be addressing the letter to the specific name of the person to whom it is being sent. If you don't know the name of the person, then I would suggest finding that out.)