Oneill474 Posts: 427, Reputation: 2

Aug 13, 2009, 01:32 PM
    Hard boiled eggs
    Any tips how to make it easier to remove the shells from
    Hard boiled eggs?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Aug 13, 2009, 01:36 PM

Yes, let them get completely cool before trying. I always found super fresh eggs, I mean right from the hen, were impossible to shell after hard boiling.

Tick
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Aug 13, 2009, 01:40 PM

Ok, ONeil, let me try and educate you to the wonderful world of hard boiled eggs. I am an amateur compared to my late mother who always made hard boiled eggs that peeled easily. Try as I might, mine sometimes come out right, but not like mama's did consistently.

She always used the freshest eggs and started with eggs that were room temperature. Cold water with a pinch of salt. Cover the pan with a lid. Let the water come to a boil. Let boil for 3 minutes, then turn down heat to very very low and let cook for another 20 minutes. Then turn off heat completely and let water cool for about 10 minutes. Place pot with water and eggs in the sink and run cold water over eggs until eggs are not hot any longer. Take out one and peel. Should be a perfect peel. (At least that's the way mama taught me how to make them anyway). I cannot guarantee yours will peel away perfectly because a lot of chickens don't lay eggs with thicker shells. I have experimented with brown eggs, white eggs, jumbo eggs, medium eggs, etc. ad nauseum and found that it does not matter. What does matter is if they are really, really fresh period.

Good luck with your egg peeling activities.

If you'd like an old fashioned recipe for hard boiled eggs and red beets, let me know. I'm Pennsylvania Dutch and have eaten them for 50+ years. They keep well in the fridge for 2 weeks due to the vinegar broth. Mine never last that long as I eat them all up well before that.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054