Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mantisca Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 22, 2006, 09:48 PM
    theft under 5000 ontario ?
    I recentlly was held in jail for 5 days due to a child support issue during this time I was brought back into court before my 5 days was up and was charged with theft under 5000 x2 now these charges where from where I worked as a superintendent over 5 years ago. The crowns disclosure stated they had been activlly searching for me for the past 5 years through drivers license and other means but the stupid thing is my drivers license was always up to date so why they could not find me before this I have no idea. Part of the crowns disclosure also includes letters I supposedlly wrote to the landlord but none of them where signed plus they where typed on a computer which I did not own at this time The discloser says I could be the only one that could have stoled this rent money and a video multiplexer cause the landlord states I was the only other one with keys to the maintenance room which was untrue and also that I left so quicklly but I left the job due to the building being full of drug users and drunks and really was tired of being threatened by them since all I was getting paid for this job was free rent and the building has a history of criminal activity. I have no criminal record but I was wondering if there is a statue of limitations on this and if they have a case against me since it has been this long.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Oct 23, 2006, 05:33 AM
    Hello man:

In the US, the statute of limitations runs from when the crime is discovered until they issue a warrant or arrest someone. Once a warrant is issued, the statute of limitations stops. The warrant lasts forever.

I'll bet you guy's operate the same.

excon
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 23, 2006, 06:09 AM