Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    UnsureProfessional Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 22, 2006, 10:58 AM
    I'm Married... and have developed a major physical attraction to one of employees
    I am a professional, married successful person and have neve had any type of problem with this situation before. It has torn me up inside and I can't hardly figure out how to deal with it.

I am a Top-Level Executive that indirectly oversees 200 employees and 25 direct employees.

Last Spring I hired a new manager. A female. I had known her somewhat previously as she is good friends with my wife. She was by far the best person for the job as even a committee helped with the final decision.

I had never found this woman the slightest bit attractive etc. NEVER. In fact, the little thought I had ever had was that I considered her a bit 'homely'.

Anyway, she started work and we have had to work fairly close together as she opened up a new office for us in our area.

Somehow, the past couple months I have developed an intense physical attraction to her. When we are together at work, I find myself thinking of sexual thoughts about her. She has never in any manner come on to me or flirted and I definitely know where that can lead and have made strong efforts to never imply or do anything that could be misconstrued.

Things are complicated as she and my wife are good friends and they live on the same street.

No one else can be assigned her direct supervisor. I am in agony as I cannot get pas this thing or at least it seems that way.

I have a great wife and kids. The other lady is also married. I have made concerted efforts to pay even more attention to my wife etc. but still, this physical feeling about this other lady will not fade.

I know the danger involved and do not want anything to happen despite my thoughts. I only want the feeling and thoughts to subside.