Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    elaha Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2006, 07:43 PM
    Shoplifting
    Hi Dear,

I am 19 years old. I was shoplifting four days ago and I was caught by the security in Zellers. I got a fingerprint date and court date which is next month and I am fined under $5000.00. I am really nervous and don't know what to do, I can't sleep at nights and neither can concentrate in my studies. I am a full time student and don't have a job. I can't afford to have a lawyer but is it possible to get a lawyer from the court for free and my other questions is, is it possible that judge throw me to the jail for 6 months. I will appreciate if anyone try to help me PLEASE.
    s_cianci Posts: 5,472, Reputation: 760
    Uber Member

Oct 17, 2006, 07:49 PM
    If this is a first offense and the amount of theft not exorbitant, it's doubtful that you'll go to jail. Likewise, since your freedom is not at at stake, the court will probably not appoint you a lawyer. Have you tried negotiating with the store to make full restitution plus extra compensation (for their expenses and inconvenience) in exchange for them dropping the charges and your promise to never go in that store again? Staying out of court saves them a lot of time and hassle and volunteering to pay them back is the easiest way for them to recoup their losses. It's also good for you in that you avoid a conviction, record and sentence (which would probably be a year's probation ; very tough for a student.) In all likelihood, that's the course of action a lawyer would propose to you if you hired one. Think about it.
    elaha Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2006, 07:58 PM