Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shajahan_ar7 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 17, 2009, 12:39 AM
    Group policy
    I am an administrator of a construction company. Now I want to create a group policy becoz I have to give separate rights to some users. So how can I create a group policy and how I implement ?
    chuckhole Posts: 850, Reputation: 45

Jul 17, 2009, 08:20 AM

Are you using a Domain or Workgroup server?

You will need to install the Group Policy Management Console. If you are using a Workgroup, you will have to use Local Policies. This can get very messy. If you are using a Domain model, you can use domain based policies that apply to users, computers and groups of user or computers. You will need to organize your work and detail what you want to accomplish.

Microsoft has an area on their web site dedicated to Group Policy.

The site has links for planning guides and templates. Templates are available for basic user and system management, server management, network settings, media and games, WSUS, MS Office components, etc.
    shajahan_ar7 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 18, 2009, 08:31 AM

I am using a domain controller (domain level). If I use domain policy that will affect all users and computers. But here permissions and restrictions only for some of the users. Is there any way to make those users as a separate OU and apply group policy ? Answer it immly
    chuckhole Posts: 850, Reputation: 45

Jul 20, 2009, 05:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by shajahan_ar7 View Post
    I am using a domain controller (domain level). If i use domain policy that will affect all users and computers. But here permissions and restrictions only for some of the users. Is there any way to make those users as a separate OU and apply group policy ? answer it immly