Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    boss1234 Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Jul 7, 2009, 09:04 PM
    Does drain cleaner really dissolve hair and grease from bathroom drain?
    HI,
    Went to home depot yesterday and found various chemicals available claiming hair and grease dissolve, was curious if those really works? Or to have drain cleaned? I have no clogs yet but just feeling that water goes really slowly and also have lot of hair falling.
    Thanks
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jul 8, 2009, 04:45 AM
    As a repair plumber I have never recommended using harsh chemicals. In your drainage system. Besides they only seem to work in TV commercials and when you try to remove the water you could burn your hands or damage your eyes. I prefer to snake a drain line m uself but if chemicals are your thing then Try this for your drain. Tonight before bedtime pour 1/2 gallon of bleach down the drain and let it set over night. Next morning, ( and this is important ) flush the mess out with two large pans of boiling water.
    The bleach will start to dissolve the hair and make it slippery and the boiling water will melt the grease and flush it away. Good luck, Tom

Jul 8, 2009, 08:54 AM
    What is the best remedy you suggest Mark for the drain maintenance? As I have too many hair falling. Drain cleaning service cost me too much and not a good idea to call often if there are no clogs. I am just concern about not getting clog in future to avoid any inconvenience and maintain drain in good condition.
    Eternal Plumber

Jul 8, 2009, 08:59 AM
    Go you wannt me to delete my answer and wait for Mark to answer?

Jul 8, 2009, 09:02 AM

Nope. I am sorry for the confusion in name. I am a new member. Please accept my apology
    Eternal Plumber

Jul 8, 2009, 09:39 AM