Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ZoeMarie Posts: 2,049, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Jun 17, 2009, 09:32 AM
    Seriously? I need to vent
    Ok, here's the lowdown. My dad and stepmom built a house the year I graduated in 2001. They built it with the intentions that my brother and I would live there and pay them rent. That's fine. I had a job since I was 16, now that I'm out of school I'll pay rent. Not a big deal. Ok so my brother and I were both paying rent once my brother got out of school and got a full time job.

Everything's fine until my stepmom loses her job. She missed all kind of work and she eventually got let go. She has been unemployed for over 2 years. I moved out last year when my husband and I got married. I would have stayed long to help him pay the mortgage- we stayed 3 months to help out before we found a house. When you just get married you kind of want to be out on your own.

So now my dad's struggling to pay the bills, burning through savings and asking my grandpa for money because his wife won't take a job. "well it's not going to pay as well as my last job." I'm sorry but no, it probably won't. That's something you deal with when you start all over. ANY job is better than NO job.

My dad has now found someone who wants to rent downstairs which in turn will force my brother out. I do not understand why my dad hasn't just flipped out on my stepmom yet. She gets offered a job at quite a few places she interviews but she won't get off her high horse and take one. She turns them down because she wants to do "powerpoint." It's taken a lot to keep my mouth shut but I don't know how much longer I can do this. Sometimes it's so hard to keep the peace, especially when I know my dad is struggling.
    HistorianChick Posts: 2,556, Reputation: 825
    Ultra Member

Jun 17, 2009, 09:37 AM

Families. Rah. :)

So sorry. Not much you can do, is there?

Go blow bubbles. It helps. Or, get a cup of coffee. That helps, too.
    Ultra Member