Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pothead420 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 16, 2009, 05:28 PM
    Can my PO drug test me if I am not on drug related probation?
    That's pretty much my question
    Ladyviper Posts: 221, Reputation: 36

Jun 16, 2009, 05:42 PM

I am not positive, but I believe they can drug test you regardless of the offense. Since your sole responsibility while on probation is staying out of trouble, I think they will if they suspect anything.
    JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

Jun 16, 2009, 07:25 PM

I was a probation officer in Maryland for 7 years and we could not do drug testing on anyone unless it was specified by the court in the probation order. However, in some states the ability to do drug testing is considered to be a standard condition of probation. I used to get probation transfers from other states and the probation officer from the sending state would call me and ask if the person had tested positive for anything. I had to tell them that in my state, unless it was ordered by the court, we couldn't do it.

Your probation order should give you some clue as to whether they can test or not. If the PO asks you to take a test, you can just about guarantee that they are allowed to do it... In my state we always had too many cases to start doing things to probationers that were not in the probation order. If that happens ask to see their authority for testing, it should be written down somewhere.

However, if the probationer gave me some indication that they might be using (such as a new arrest for possession), I would write the judge to have the condition of testing added, and the judge always allowed it under such circumstances.