Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jsu0272n Posts: 33, Reputation: 2

Jun 11, 2009, 12:14 PM
    Should I join the military after college?
    Okay so here's the break down I'm 21 I'm almost finished with my bachelor's degree and I'm still looking for direction own my career choice. I have not completed any prior military training, but it is to my understanding that within as little as 13 weeks of training I could become a second lt. because I have no experience I assume I will get a lower base pay but I'm thinking it's somewhere around 2555 a month that's not including everything else that come along. So basically I am looking for some input on how to go about this and which branch I should choose. So if anyone has experience please respond.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jun 11, 2009, 12:45 PM

Jsu, I can only say that I know of two young chaps who joined the Canadian military and received basic training, and a spectacular education along with it. One went back into the Canadian military and is living in Ottawa; transferred to training in Navy Seals and is still with them and enjoying postings all over the world. The other learned IT and is now a computer technician in civilian life. So, phone them, see what they offer and go from there.

I don't know what the US military offer.

Tick
    STG Posts: 84, Reputation: 7

Jun 13, 2009, 11:10 PM
    My own experience:

I entered the military as a Private, E-1 in the US Army and was promoted up to the grade of SGT/E-5 before accepting a commission as a 2LT following college graduation. Being a commissioned officer is easily the best leadership training you'll ever get. There is NO civilian job that gives the kind of responsibility you will get as a 22 year old. You'll be in charge of 30+ soldiers. You will be responsible for where they sleep, what they eat, what they wear and what they do 24/7 when deployed. That's an incredible maturing process for anyone who does it.