Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nissi Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2003, 06:13 PM
    Sensor light
    I have an '87 nissan sentra and the sensor light is on , what should I do? The car is also idled too high how do I fix that and it also burns a lot of gas?
    chabat Posts: 37, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2003, 12:44 PM
    sensor light
    I am not very good at idle problems. Sometimes when a car is set at a high idle, it is because someone put it that way because it dies at low idle, which usually means there is another issue causing it to die, like a stuck open EGR valve or something...

On the sensor light, which sensor is it? Or what does the light say? All cars have different sensors and lights. On my truck, the O2 (oxygen) sensor light came on after 90,000 miles because the oxygen sensor is supposed to be changed at 90K miles.
    More info...

Feb 6, 2003, 12:48 PM
    sensor light
    It just says sensor. I have another problem now. I was driving the other day and it cut off on me and I had to have it pulled home. Before it did this some times when I tried to crank it would be slow starting.

Feb 6, 2003, 12:51 PM
    sensor light
    Did it die at idle or while driving freeway speed?

Feb 6, 2003, 03:45 PM
    sensor light
    I think I was doing about 15-20 mph. I was driving in the country and it just cut off( I can't remember if it was shaking a little or not). I tried to recrank it to no avail.

Feb 6, 2003, 06:34 PM
    sensor light
    This may be easier for a mechanic to diagnose from afar. However, I am not a mechanic, just someone who has worked on his own cars for 16 yrs.

If you are pretty good with cars, you can get a repair manual and go through the troubleshooting section under car won't start.

Or, you can get a friend to look at it who knows about cars. If you are not really very mechanically inclined, take it to a shop.