Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Enana Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 5, 2009, 01:18 AM
    Can I sign a lease without credit history?
    Hi there!

Firstly, I want to thank you in advance for taking into consideration my request. I am new in this page and frankly, it is been a relief to have found it!

I am going to move soon to California for 6 months. I am from Germany and I am going with a Worker´s Visa status.

It is been very difficult to find a place to stay from here but I finally found something/someone very nice! And I would have my own room in a very beautiful shared house. The problem is that they ask me to sign a lease for one year and in case I do not stay longer than six months, I could find someone to take over my part of the lease.

What are my responsibilities?

I know, I have to talk about it with the landlord but I am asking here about general terms to know a little about the situation and my rights... Because in my country, it is not legal to do so (subletters) although a lot of people do it, mostly students...

And the main question is: Can I sign a lease without credit history??

Thank you very much in advance!
    Best,
    Laura
    trmpldonagn Posts: 252, Reputation: 15

Jun 5, 2009, 01:50 AM