Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    drummergirl6 Posts: 77, Reputation: 3

Jun 1, 2009, 02:23 PM
    Drum interview
    I play drums and I have done for 6 years now and I've never really had lessons only the few at school, I have been doing a sport course at college for 2 yrears it wa sthe wrong choice and I now applying for a music cours... I have an interview on the 9th and have to perform on myinstrument which is drums but I don't think much of myself and I'm really scraed I'm not sure what to perform or even if I want to go to the interview as I'm so scared people say I'm good and I use to play in a band but they seem bias as they friends and family helpp
    Fru5tr4t3d Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jun 1, 2009, 06:40 PM
    I was in a similar position when I was 16, but I play guitar. I was self-taught, having played for 3 years, and I was absolutely CRAP. I'm not just saying that either. I went into the interview and played Wonderwall, No Woman No Cry, and I busted out some really ropey bar chords.

I knew I wasn't much good, but I showed up and did what I could, and they put me on the course! When I showed up for our first day, I was easily the worst musician there, hands down!

You'll be fine. They'll need drummers anyway!
    magpie0045 Posts: 14, Reputation: 2

Jun 1, 2009, 06:51 PM

I'm a drumer. I've taken lessons and the only thing they really teach you is page music.. but I learned a lot. Don't worry. Just drum from the heart I'm sure you'll do okay..
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jun 1, 2009, 07:00 PM

Do you read music ? If they put music in front of you, can you tell them all about it from the sheets

And to be honest if you don't believe in yourself, no one else will ever, others will only believe you are as good as you think you are.

Jun 1, 2009, 08:01 PM

I can read page music for a drum kit the treble cleft and the bass cleft and about 15 other instruments so far.. I'm only 13. I have a lot more learning to do.