Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    xxfamilygirlxx Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 1, 2009, 09:43 AM
    Is it an eating disorder?
    Erm its my first time using this site so I'm sorry if I babble on

When I started year 9 at my high school I started to put on weight and it was fast in the space of a year I went from 10 stone to 16 (OMG) and I was picked on a lot of the time because of it. Then I joined college which was a public service course so it had a lot of fitness in it (running gym all that kind of stuff) and I started to loose it slowly but I started to feel it wasn't going fast enough so I stated to hate eating the food and this was about half way through my first year but it was nothing serious I still ate my 3 meals a day and all that.
    But 4 or 5 months ago I started to skip meals and do more fitness, then in the 2 months or so I haven't eaten a full meal because it makes me feel like a pig and horrible, just looking at food makes me feel sick and I have been sick a few times. In the past month I have gone from a size 16 to a size 12. I want to stop because I no I am hurting my body but then I don't want to stop if you no what I mean. Help me is there something wrong with me or is it just my imagination playing tricks on me?.
    Fugue Posts: 14, Reputation: 6

Jun 1, 2009, 07:18 PM
    First, I want to start with a disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, and even if I were, I wouldn't be able to diagnose you online.

But. Yes, this sounds to me like an eating disorder.

I want you to read this as many times as it takes to sink in: You do NOT need to maintain or encourage an eating disorder to lose weight or to stay slender.

I hope this doesn't sound judgmental, because I really do understand where you're coming from. Around five years ago, I gained quite a bit of weight, lost it, and even now, keeping the weight off can require some real willpower.