Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    zqw_321 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 29, 2009, 09:28 PM
    Shoplifting on mall
    So I made a wrong decision out of a stupid challenge and shoplifted 50$ worth o stuff at a mall, and got caught .
    They give ma a Notice of intended legal action, and a inform of fobidden entering the mall in one year.
    The police came in,ask if I had a clean record. I told him I am clean. This is first time,I feel very sorry. He told me I should pay some restitution and in 1 year don't come the
    Mall. And he didn't give me anything.
    I want to know when will I receive the restitution bill?
    If I pay the bill there will be OK?
    They will not ask me to the court?
    The police will not give me a criminal record?
    When I go back everything is OK? I mean there will not have bad impact on me?
    (I am a international student,I told polce I will finish my study next month and go back。)
    Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks
    JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

May 30, 2009, 07:44 AM

I was in retail security for 13 years and the whole situation seems kind of odd to me. Did this happen in the United States? You said the value was 50 dollars so I assume it did. In the United States you normally don't pay restitution unless the victim suffers a loss. If they recovered the merchandise when you were caught, they will be no restitution owed.

I have never heard of a "notice of intended legal action" form unless we are talking about a form used by a private company.

When we arrested someone, we decided on the spot whether they were going to be charged with a crime. If they were, they were notified of that fact by giving them a copy of the charging document, which is required by law. If they were not they were barred for a year and if they came back before that we would charge them with trespassing.