Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    melisskah Posts: 20, Reputation: 3

May 13, 2009, 10:27 AM
    Does anybody know the names of these flowers ?
    Hi, I'm new to gardening and recently got a bunch of flowers from a friend, which consisted of the two flowers below: I would love to know the names of them, to be able to perhaps grow them in my own garden. Any knowledge on these two would be great, (the purple flower by the way feels like a paper material!) Thanks.

Sorry the images came out big!
    Synnen Posts: 7,927, Reputation: 2443
    Expert

May 13, 2009, 10:55 AM

Can't be sure, the pictures aren't very clear to me, but I think it's lavender and honeysuckle
    ruthmarx Posts: 41, Reputation: 10

May 13, 2009, 10:58 AM

The blue one is Statice and the other look like a Peruvian Lily. Both are florists favorites because they are extreemly easy to grow.
    Statice is an annual and comes in blue, yellow, pink and orange. They are great as cut flowers and last a long time which makes them even better in dried arrangements.
    The lily is a bulb and grows to only 12 - 14 inches. You may want to check which lily is best for your area.
    Good luck!
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

May 13, 2009, 11:04 AM
    Its hard to tell since the pics are so close up.

The yellow/pink ones remind me of alstromeria.
    Sam's Club - Alstroemeria
    Alstroemeria - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Don't know what zone you are in and if you can grow them in your area. I've bought a version at a local greenhouse that has similar flowerheads, but the stems aren't as long or isolated... think more like a small "bush" with the same flowers. Love it. But in my area, zone 5, nobody has these outside. They just aren't winter hardy here.