Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cbosuro Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 27, 2006, 11:54 AM
    Letter to Senior Citizen
    I work as a customer service coordinater. A senior citizen wrote a letter to the president that he wants me to address. This is what the letter reads...
    Dear Sir/Madam,
    Please be advised that the fees to cash a payroll check are too high. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income. Please consider a lower check cashing fee.

What can I say to this customer?
    I need help ASAP!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Sep 27, 2006, 12:01 PM
    Dear

I'm sorry you feel our check cashing fees are too high. I can appreciate living on a fixed income can be a strain. However, our fee schedule is geared to ensuring that we make money for the service we perform. We have our own costs involved in providing this service. Plus the risk we take when doing so.

We have investigated other companies performaning this service and feel our fees are competitive. However, we do plan on discussing the possibility of providing a senior citizen discount. If this goes through I will be happy to let you know.

Make sure you have done your homework about how competitive your rates are and DO propose a seniors discount. Lots of companies give them.
    cbosuro Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 27, 2006, 12:05 PM
    Thanks Scott! This sounds GREAT! I have never been good at writing letters and you just saved my butt. :)

Thanks

Christi
    Depressed in MO Posts: 571, Reputation: 94

Sep 27, 2006, 12:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem
    Dear

I'm sorry you feel our check cashing fees are too high. I can appreciate living on a fixed income can be a strain. However, our fee schedule is geared to ensuring that we make money for the service we perform. We have our own costs involved in providing this service. Plus the risk we take when doing so.