Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    help888 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

May 5, 2009, 05:59 PM
    Unions ,is the rigth choice?
    I've been a mechanic for constrution equipment for 7 years . LOCAL 150 is trying to represent us ,I am the foreman of my shop and have good relations with the president of the company ,but I don't know if which side shuold I take?
    bones252100 Posts: 253, Reputation: 29

May 5, 2009, 07:29 PM

Unions were needed in the first half of the 20th century. Now their only reason for needing new participants is the money flow to support them. They only want your employees money & can't produce any more benefits than is already guaranteed by law. Talk to your shop workers. Ask for their ideas. Unions were created because companies were treating the employees unfairly. If you are being treated fairly by the company then there is no need for a union in your company.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

May 8, 2009, 01:10 PM

Every union job I had was a waste of my money. I paid dues and I never saw any benefit. Now unions are getting so desperate they are trying to do something called card check where they have employees sign to win something and don't tell you you are voting to have a union. It does away with a secret ballot.

Beware of Mandatory Arbitration in Card Check - THE UNION LABEL
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

May 8, 2009, 06:22 PM

You are or will be firmly in the middle from what you have described.
    Your only hope is to enforce the policies and procedures of the company and honor the agreements between the union and your company.
    When disputes arise, if there is clear policy, settle it. If not clear policy get out of the middle and let the company and union settle it.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 8, 2009, 06:56 PM

What extra benefit will the union offer that the company does not now provide.