Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    PCD1978 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 16, 2009, 04:59 PM
    Received Summons today
    Hey everyone,

I just received a court summons regarding my student loan from Portfolio Recovery today. The amount I owe is $1200 dollars. I have never been through anything like this before so please tell me what's the best idea to take care of this situation. I have the full amount available to pay but should I call the debt collector and pay them full or try to reach a settlement with them? Also do I have to call the court as well as the lawyers to let them know I paid or will Portfolio drop the summons altogether? I just want to take care of this ASAP and want to avoid getting into this crap again in the future. I am new to all this legal jargon so any help would be greatly appreciated!
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 16, 2009, 05:14 PM

I would suggest you contact the original creditor, if possible. If you contact the collection agency you will get the run around and they will try and recover their fee for buying out this debt. I wish you luck and commend you for being honest regarding your commitments.

Tick

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Received a summons for old debt [ 2 Answers ]

Hello, I received a summons on my door for a credit card debt. As Im obviously an idiot I've been ignoring letters debt collectors have been sending me simply because I don't have the money to pay. This one however is a bit different unlike my other debts I have no idea what this pertains...

I received a summons [ 5 Answers ]