Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Wizz Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Sep 14, 2006, 01:00 PM
    IE displays page not found
    Hi, I'm new to all this and I need some help.

My modem has got both lights on so I'm assuming I'm connected to the internet. However when I try to open IE it comes up with page cannot be displayed.

I'm using XP. I've checked all my settings in Internet Options.
    I've tried repairing IE and tried disabling the anti virus software.
    I would appreciate any advice on what to do.

Cheers
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Sep 14, 2006, 01:07 PM
    Try deleting all Temp Internet files. You also need to confirm your connection. Go to Start>run type CMD to open a command prompt then type Ping yahoo.com and see if it returns 4 values.

Sep 15, 2006, 02:45 AM
    I've tried deleting temporary internet files.

When I ping yahoo.com it says it can't be found.

I've phoned up my ISP who gave me an IP address and DNS to enter manually but it still displays page cannot be found when I open IE.

Thanks
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

Sep 15, 2006, 03:23 AM
    If you can't ping Yahoo, then it sounds like you don't have your modem etc. set up correctly. I would guess the problem is that the modem isn't set up properly or your ISP hasn't activated something. Personally I would phone your ISP's support line again. They should be able to talk you through setting things up.

Sep 15, 2006, 06:01 AM
    What LT said. You don't indicate if this is a dialup or broadband modem, but you are not getting an Internet connection, so your ISP needs to troubelshoot it.

Sep 15, 2006, 07:20 AM
    I use broadband and have tried everything I can think of.

When you logon a screen appears saying TCP/IP transport isn't installed.
    (Don't know whether this has something to do with it)

I can ping my default gateway but cannot ping a name.