Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    newbie Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Oct 7, 2003, 08:25 PM
    Diet
    Hi
    How can I lose some weight ( only 3-4 kg) without going on horrible diets? Because I've seen people who went on hard diets and did lose weight but the wieght went back as soon as they returned to normal eating habbits.
    I've already cut off hot chips and junk food. What else shoud I do?
    Thanks
    elina Posts: 136, Reputation: 1

Oct 8, 2003, 11:19 PM
    Re: Diet
    newbie, hi, that is good you are cutting down on junk foods. Please bear with me while I explain, as I will be  somewhat lengthy. Thanks. My specialty is metabolism and weight loss, and I used to be a personal trainer.

At this stage, you certainly do not want to stop cold turkey doing everything you have always done before. Otherwise, your body will go into a withdrawal and "shock" state, where you'll end up craving for just about everything you can get you hands on. And, the more this cycle of so called "yo-yo" dieting occur, the more unwanted weight you will gain back and more, and the harder and longer it is to lose weight, until your body stops responding to your weight-lost efforts. During this time, this is when your body goes into "protective mode, or self-preservation mode", as you mentioned about people re-gaining their weight.

So, in order for you to lose any weight at all, you should take things slowly, and therefore, lose the weight you want to slowly and safely.  

This is a mindset you will have to train yourself into. There is really no "magic weight loss pill" as so many pop ads and magazines may have you believe, although there are some vitamin pills you can take to increase your metabolism, but I don't recommend it nor any herb supplements, unless your doctor and /or a registered dietitian suggests so.