Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    subsab Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 11, 2006, 03:58 PM
    F1 visa student - self employment- 1099 tax form
    I am a phd international student in Houston Texas. I am a citizen of Tunisia.
    I joined the program in fall 2005 and I am on campus employee. I am starting my second year now.
    I am filling W2 form for tax. I have an opportunity to gain extra income as self employed or independent contractor from an online job. They are saying they will send me my check by mail and that I need to fill out at the end of the year a 1099 misc form for tax.
    My question is : Do I have the legal wright to take this "job" (independent contractor) or shall it be a violation of my F1 visa status. Does filling the 1099 form with my W2 will cause any problem? If not how much should I pay for taxes..
    Looking forward to your response. If any information is missing please let me know.
    Thanks in advance for your help.
    Regards
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Sep 12, 2006, 06:35 PM
    A lot depends on how much you make as an independent contractor AND what your deductible expenses would be. If the amount is relatively small, then it would probably not be a problem.

I recently prepared a return for another student just like you. My research indicated no violation for working as an independent contractor.
    taxsearcher Posts: 222, Reputation: 8

Sep 13, 2006, 05:46 AM
    This is not really a tax question but a question about your immigration status. An F1 visa does not allow you to take off campus employment anywhere or anytime you want. You can only take employment under specific circumstances, such as through OPT or CPT and there are hardship provisions too.

But generally, an F1 student cannot simply go out and find employment. This is illegal. I would encourage you not to do this because it is a violation of your status.