Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    grantmcf Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 5, 2009, 11:31 PM
    UK resident on J1 visa in past, now on H1B visa. Tax payable?
    Hi

I am a UK resident. I worked as a visiting professor for 18 months in 2002-3 on a J1 visa. I paid no US tax during that time. I did not file a tax return. I returned to the US this month on an H1B visa to work for a year as a visiting professor. What US tax do I have to pay?

Thanks

Grant
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 6, 2009, 09:23 AM

For the years on J1, even when your income was not subject to income tax, you were required to file tax return (and Form 8843) and claim treaty deduction.

When did you enter the U.S. on H1-B? Are you married or single? On H1-B, you must pay FICA taxes and income taxes. Read about H1-B tax filing: Your U.S. Tax Return: The U.S. Visas

Apr 10, 2009, 07:28 PM
    Thanks. I am married with 2 children, aged 6 and 9. I entered the US on 3/23/09.
    Tax Expert

Apr 11, 2009, 08:25 AM

Your H1-B income is subject to FICA taxes, and income taxes.
    For 2009, you can file dual status return or married filing jointly.

Apr 11, 2009, 08:51 AM
    Thanks. My original question actually had to do with the US-UK tax treaty and the fact that I have worked in the US before, for 18 months on a J1 visa. Do I have to pay federal income tax now that I have returned to work in the US on an H1-B visa? I am a UK resident.
    Tax Expert

Apr 11, 2009, 09:43 AM

No you do not pay tax on J1 exempt income of 2002-2003.

Apr 11, 2009, 04:25 PM

That is correct. My question is: am I exempt from withholding of Federal Income Tax now that I am back in the US on an H1-B visa, given that I am a British citizen?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jun 9, 2009, 12:50 PM
    No, you are NOT exempt.

The H-1B visa is a work visa, and you are subject to all of the taxes that U.S. citizens pay.