Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    FairyWings Posts: 31, Reputation: 1

Sep 9, 2006, 10:56 PM
    Rewards for good behavior
    Hi,

This is my first year teaching computers in which the children are on a 3 day rotation. Every week I have every child in the school in my room at some time or another. There are approx. 550! I want to have some kind of program to reward good behavior, but with that many, I can't afford to buy enough for everyone all the time. The school alots us each $175.00 to buy things like candy and stickers, but that still isn't enough to get me through the year. I have already spent way too much of my own money. Does anyone have any ideas about how to do a reward program in this situation. The teacher before me used to draw names at the end of class, but I want them to feel like they have control over whether they will get a prize depending on their behavior and not just luck of the draw. Any suggestions?

Thanks!:D
    valinors_sorrow Posts: 2,927, Reputation: 653
    I regard all beings mostly by their consciousness and little else

Sep 10, 2006, 05:15 AM
    For what it is worth, I think genuine praise in front of one's peers is still the most potent form and neatly fits the budget too? Maybe you need a theusaurus to find all the different ways of saying "Well done, Johnny!" more than more stickers... just a thought! I work with an all volunteer organization (apart from myself and my assistant) and although we reward the volunteers with candy and lapel pins (lol, an adult form of stickers, I guess!), it's the sincere compliments that go the farthest toward making an impact, from what I see.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 10, 2006, 07:36 AM