Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Augy123 Posts: 58, Reputation: 3

Sep 8, 2006, 11:52 AM
    Remodel options needed: Replace bath with shower
    I am looking at removing a standard fiberglass bathtub/shower enclosure and installing a tiled shower. What are my options for the base of the shower? I've seen one or two products online that are cultured marble bases with tile inserts that fit right into the old bathtub rough opening. They were pretty pricey though! I know I could form a base out of concrete and tile over that but I've never done that before and I'm not thrilled with the idea of working with concrete where any leaks could cause serious water damage (the bathroom is on the second floor). Are there other options out there?

Thanks for any input and advice.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 8, 2006, 12:15 PM
    "I know I could form a base out of concrete and tile over that but I've never done that before and I'm not thrilled with the idea of working with concrete where any leaks could cause serious water damage (the bathroom is on the second floor). Are there other options out there?"

On a second floor shower you deck over the tub dap out hole and frame your shower out of 2 X 4's. You extend the trap raiser up over the floor line and install the bottom half of a flange type shower drain,(see image).
    You then pan out the shower with Blue Compaseal Plastic and bolt down the top half of the shower drain. From there the tile man takes over.
    If you don't have the skills and tools to do this perhaps a manufactured shower base that's designed to fit over a tub hole would be the best way to go. Regards, tom
    Augy123 Posts: 58, Reputation: 3

Sep 8, 2006, 12:35 PM