Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kayswhitten Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Mar 30, 2009, 09:08 PM
    Petrified bone marrow?
    Has anyone ever heard of bone marrow that is practically petrified? During a total knee replacement my surgeon had to drill out the bone marrow. Yet neither the pathologist who examined the bone fragments, nor the hematologist who I saw can find any evidence of a bone, bone marrow, or a blood disorder. They say I happen to have very hard bones. I do drink mostly milk and quite a bit of it; I do not drink coffee nor many soft drinks.
    ISneezeFunny Posts: 4,175, Reputation: 821
    Ultra Member

Mar 30, 2009, 09:20 PM

I'm a bit lost with your question.

1. Petrified bone marrow in a live human being would not work, as bone marrow produces red blood cells... so petrified bone marrow would = death.

2. You said your surgeon had to drill out the bone marrow, but in my experience in observation (I'm a pre-med student), I've never seen it done any other way. Was there a different method that the surgeon utilized on a regular basis?

3. Why do you think that you may have a bone/marrow/blood disorder?

4. Some people have hard bones, some people have soft bones; it really depends on the person.
    kayswhitten Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Mar 31, 2009, 12:11 AM

I was told that the bone marrow can usually be practically "scooped" out with your finger, but that mine was like stone.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Dog ate bone whole [ 2 Answers ]

M small dog ate a rib bone whole. Will he be okay?

Bone marrow donations [ 2 Answers ]