Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    450donn Posts: 1,821, Reputation: 239
    Ultra Member

Mar 30, 2009, 07:37 AM
    Socalized Medicine or the Liberal Health Plan
    Was listening to the news this morning and one story was about the death of the actress, Mz Richardson a couple weeks ago. Turns out that if she had been given a simple test she would likely still be alive. But that this test was not authorized under the Canadian health system because of cost. Top that off with the long delay in getting her to medical treatment because of the lack of helicopter medevac service and you have a relatively young woman dead because of inadequate health services due to Government regulation. Is this what we really want in America? :(
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Mar 30, 2009, 07:43 AM
    Of course it's not. As a nurse I am quite frightened by the idea of socialized medicine. I won't be able to order an ultrasound if I feel that there might be a shoulder dystocia because it's "too expensive." That simple test could save the life of the baby I am ordering it for.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Mar 30, 2009, 08:14 AM

Hello 450:

I don't want the government in the examining room with me and my doctor... But, right now, I've got the government in there AND an insurance adjuster.

Frankly, I don't know what the insurance adjuster is doing there. Certainly HE'S going to deny me services too, just like you think the government is going to, otherwise he WOULDN'T be there. No?

Why do YOU think he's there? Or do you even get that he is. Certainly the email you get from the right wingers isn't going to tell you about them.

Seems to me, that health care would get a whole lot cheaper, and be more widely available if we removed ONE of those FOUR people from the examining room..

What?? You don't think insurance companies are making money here?

excon
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Mar 30, 2009, 08:29 AM