Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AcuteFelon Posts: 9, Reputation: 2

Mar 28, 2009, 08:14 PM
    US felon wishing to start over in another country.
    Hi, I hate to admit it but have no other choice! I am a college graduate have a great husband that is almost finished with his military service and I am a convicted felon. I have tried to start my life over but it's been tough the past 10 years and we are ready to leave the US. I have my passport but am wondering how or if I can get a Visa in another country with felonies in Fraud?

I am tired of people putting me down about my past, especially when I got a raw deal because of my ex husband. People are so judgmental and if you were to see and meet me you would never in a thousand years ever think I had served 21 months in Prison. I have completed my sentence and done all I was asked but still there's that NCIC check and always the "Have you ever been convicted of a felony" question which I always answer truthfully.

We just want to start over, my husband feels awful that I had to go through the things in my past and never get a fair chance anymore.

Does anyone know a country we could live that will allow a US felon to live?
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

Mar 30, 2009, 01:10 PM

This is a very broad question. You should start by asking yourself what do you want to do in foreign country... what kind of climate, culture, etc. You must start with employment first then the visa, etc.

If you've never been overseas before, I suggest travel there and stay as visitor for a while and see if you can live in that environment. Sometimes it's not that easy.
    AcuteFelon Posts: 9, Reputation: 2

Mar 30, 2009, 01:54 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by lawanwadee View Post
    This is a very broad question. You should start by asking yourself what do you want to do in foreign country... what kind of climate, culture, etc. You must start with employment first then the visa, etc.