Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    G383 Posts: 12, Reputation: 3

Mar 23, 2009, 11:59 AM
    Dark home hair dye to Light salon dye. Will my hair fall out?
    I have been dying my hair for about 7 years now. I have used both home hair dye kits as well as visits to salons to have my hair done. After having a few bad experiences with certain salons (eg. Colorists dying my skin as well as my hair, bad and wrong coloring... etc... ). Although it has been lighter colors in the past that was done by salons ( as I am naturally medium-dark brown ), I have been fully dying it myself with at home colors that are very close to my natural shade. No highlights, just full color. I have made an appointment at a VERY prestigious salon in my area where the colorists and stylists are literally the best of the best. I am going to have a full highlight done, in a fairly bright blonde.

I have heard that if you dye your own hair with boxed color kits at home, and then have it lightened by a professional to a bright blonde, the colors can react and cause hair to literally fall out. I am EXTREMELY nervous about having it done, but really want a blonde shade. Is this true? Should I be worried my hair will fall out?

Thanks!
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Mar 23, 2009, 12:37 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by G383 View Post
    I have heard that if you dye your own hair with boxed color kits at home, and then have it lightened by a professional to a bright blonde, the colors can react and cause hair to literally fall out.
    First of all, note that hair doesn't fall out because of dyeing. It might break off. Falling out implies that it won't grow back.

Each time you color or bleach your hair, it accumulates damage to the hair shaft that was dyed. Usually it's worse near the ends because that section's been around the longest. Oxygen in the air also slowly damages the hair.