Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    4online Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 19, 2009, 03:08 AM
    How to return paid taxes while being worked as J-1 international student
    Hello!
    I'm an international student from Ukraine and I was working as a J-1 student while participating Work&Travel Program in summer 2007 (State New Mexico) and summer 2008 (State California). In 2007 I paid only Federal and State income taxes and in 2008 on my second job I also paid CA SUI/SDI tax, which I was not supposed to pay, because I'm not a resident of CA State. In concerning with all this I have 3 questions:

1) How can I return paid Federal and State income taxes (what form to fill, where to take it, where then to send it, how much will the process cost, when I should expect the refunded money on my account etc.) I visited Internal Revenue Service but didn't find the answers - a lot of useful information but for those who already has an experience in tax returnig! I didn't even find any e'mail addresses where I could send my questions, because I'm not in the US already and can not call them to the office.

2) How can I return paid CA SUI/SDI tax, which I was not supposed to pay, because I'm not a resident of CA State.

3) I've heard that also we all can return 10% of paid during the year sales taxes if we keep the receipts! How to do it? Please if somebody knows - give detailed instructions!

Thanks in advance!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 19, 2009, 05:30 AM

On J1 you are exempt from residency for 2-years. You must file non-resident tax return Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ and Form 8843. Your income is not subject to FICA taxes but you must pay federal and state income taxes.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

Any income you earned while in CA is to be reported to CA. CA collects 0.6% SDI. You will not get the refund of this SDI.
    4online Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2009, 05:25 PM