Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lilyyan Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 17, 2009, 03:45 PM
    Should I benefit from Tax treaty between US and China?
    Hi Tax Experts,

I am an Chinese citizen and came to US on 27th August 2008 on H1B Visa. Since then, I have been working in USA. Now I have some questions about filing tax return forms. Your help is greatly appreciated!

In the tax year of 2008 I do not satisfy the Substantial Presence Test. I can file only the nonresident tax return Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ. I work in IT field for a non-profit organization. Can I claim the US-China tax treaty benefit? If yes, which form can I file to claim the treaty?

Thank you very much for your time.

L Yan
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 18, 2009, 01:49 AM

If you are single, you can only file nonresident tax return. There is no treaty benefit for H1-B.
    Lilyyan Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2009, 08:23 AM

Thank you for your answer!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Visiting professor ,h1b ,tax treaty benefit [ 12 Answers ]

Hi I came to US from UK in Jan 2006 as a visiting professor doing research and teaching in a University.I will be going back in May this year.I am a resident alien for tax purposes.I will be grateful if you can answer the following questions.. 1 ) Am I eligible for tax exemption under the...

Should I benefit from Tax treaty between US and China? [ 16 Answers ]

Dear Help Desk: I am a postdoc in life sciences. I came here from China in 1999 as a F1 student and now hold H1B visa. Our payroll still files W9 form for me which claims the tax-treaty Article 20(c) - $5000 is tax-free. I am just wondering whether this is correct. Thank you very much.

OPT China - US treaty [ 2 Answers ]