Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pugdom Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Mar 15, 2009, 10:40 AM
    Chiral molecules
    What specific feature determines whether a given molecule is chiral ?
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Mar 15, 2009, 11:07 AM

Look at a single carbon atom. If each of the four moieties (groups) surrounding that carbon atom is different (different number of carbon, hydrogen, or something else), the molecule is chiral. All four must be different.

Mar 15, 2009, 12:01 PM

Im studying halothane-desflurane-isoflurane...

Im being asked which of these molecules are chiral and to draw two representations of the structure which arise because the molecule is chiral...

With the answer you have given none have four different atoms coming off the carbon... What am I doing wrong ?
    Ultra Member

Mar 15, 2009, 12:50 PM

Halothane is CF3 - C(H)(Br)(Cl)
    Desflurane is CF3 - C(H)(F)-O-CF2H
    Isofluane is CF3-C(H)(Cl)-OCF2H

The rightmost carbon of halothane is chiral because it has four different groups attached to it: -CF3, -H, -Br, and -Cl

The second carbom from the left of desflurane and isoflurane is the "chiral center" for the same reasons.

When you draw the chiral center, you have to show the three dimensional structure or it doesn't make any sense. Unfortunately, I can't draw ;-) but Wikipedia has a page on chirality that shows some drawings:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chirality_(chemistry))

File:Chiral.svg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The two different structrures are called "enantiomers". They are designated "L", "l", Levorotatory, or "+" and "D", "d", Dextrororatory, or "-". When you pass a polarized light through a solution of the molecule, the plane of polarization is rotated either to the left "L", or to the right, "D".

Levorotation and dextrorotation - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hope this helps.
    templelane Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 227
    Ultra Member

Mar 15, 2009, 01:18 PM