Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Brit01 Posts: 29, Reputation: 4

Mar 12, 2009, 07:07 PM
    Customers asking personal questions
    I work in customer service and sometimes I get customer asking personal questions. I never know what to do : answer or nicely change the subject. I am there to help them and I get to ask them questions to find the best way to help... what am I supposed to do when I get personal questions from customers? I do not want to share personal info
    nikosmom Posts: 1,611, Reputation: 488
    Ultra Member

Mar 12, 2009, 07:21 PM

One casual yet polite way to respond is to politely pause, then smile with the question, "Why do you want to know?" (said sweetly). This will often make the person think about what they are asking.

I'm not sure what area of customer service you're in but sometimes people ask personal questions because they want to know if you have advice on what they should purchase.

You can always politely ignore it and just pretend like you didn't hear it. Most people won't ask personal questions more than once but if they do, just say, "I don't like talking about myself but I'd love to hear about you!"
    Brit01 Posts: 29, Reputation: 4

Mar 12, 2009, 08:26 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by nikosmom View Post
    One casual yet polite way to respond is to politely pause, then smile with the question, "Why do you want to know?" (said sweetly). This will often make the person think about what they are asking.

I'm not sure what area of customer service you're in but sometimes people ask personal questions because they want to know if you have advice on what they should purchase.

You can always politely ignore it and just pretend like you didn't hear it. Most people won't ask personal questions more than once but if they do, just say, "I don't like talking about myself but I'd love to hear about you!"