Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JBaker79 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 11, 2009, 10:59 PM
    How do I terminate my parental rights?
    I live in Florida and have an 11 year old daughter that I pay 505 dollars a month for who lives in Virginia. I have no custody or visitation and have not seen her since she was 3. She calls her mothers new husband dad and really doesn't even know who I am. I am re-married with two other children and feel that it is best to terminate my rights, but her mom, my ex-wife likes the money each month so refuses to agree and sign the papers... What should I do? And what can I do legally?
    logicalthinker Posts: 58, Reputation: 1

Mar 11, 2009, 11:05 PM

I'm not an expert, but there are a lot of posts with this question and from what I've seen you can't. Unless the step-dad is willing to adopt her. I'm sure someone with more experience on the matter will post too. You could also do a search on it and read some of the similar posts and see if that helps at all.
    goodjuju29 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 11, 2009, 11:37 PM
    What should you do? You should meet your parental obligations no matter what the situation is. How often you see her or who she calls dad doesn't change the fact that she's your daughter. What can you do legally? Normally there has to be an adoptive parent, and an agreement to legally terminate parental rights. Even if this is the case you aren't automatically relieved of your child support obligation.
    MicroMama Posts: 27, Reputation: 7

Mar 12, 2009, 10:04 AM

Talk to a lawyer.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 26, 2009, 04:52 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by JBaker79 View Post
    my ex-wife likes the money each month so refuses to agree and sign the papers... What should I do? And what can I do legally?