Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    drapple Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 26, 2006, 10:40 AM
    Leaking shower drain/pipes?
    Hello. This looks to be a great forum! I'm glad my search pulled it up.

I have a 2nd story shower leak. Directly below the shower is the laundry room and has the furnace ducts/furnace directly below. I've already decided I'll have to remove the ducts and open the ceiling to see what is going wrong (if there is a way to figure this out from above, please let me know).

I've never done this sort of thing before, so please have patience. :) I'm a pretty handy guy and have done ceiling/wall repairs and minor plumbing things. But nothing like this. I really want to figure it out and avoid a plumber if possible. So, I may need a little hand holding.

When I have the ceiling opened up, how exactly will I know what is leaking? I mean, what if it isn't obvious where the water is coming from? Is there some secret that will reveal this for me? Are there places I should look first?

Before we bought the house 3 years ago, we were aware that there was a previous leak at some point, but it didnt appear to be recent, so I had assumed it had stopped or fixed somehow by the previous owner. However, we recently had a drain clog and I put off clearing it. A couple of days later, the dripping started (not a major leak, but a decent drip) into the laundry room. I dont know if this offers any clues, but perhaps the clog somehow had something to do with it. I have cleared the clog, but the leak continues.

Thank you
    Rick
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Aug 26, 2006, 11:29 AM
    Hi Rick,