Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sharfygal Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 24, 2006, 09:59 AM
    How to well in college being a new student
    I am a new student at a junior college taking 4 classes. How do you study for them? Do I just study each class a little a day, or what? I am confused with How I will get all A's. It's a little overwhelming. Thanks
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Aug 24, 2006, 10:05 AM
    Hey, I have been there, done that, and am still doing it. What I have been taught in my 2 years so far is that for every hour you spend in class, you should spend up to 3 hours outside of class studying.

So, if you are in class for 6 hours a week, you should study 18 hours at home. This is how I got my high GPA and induction to the international honor society.

Have you declared a major? What classes will you be taking?

The following came from my Nursing 111 Syllabus.

TEACHER'S TOP TEN TIPS
    1. Attend class. We cover something imprtant every single class meeting.

2. Prepare daily (even Friday). School is hard work and you must be prepared.

3. Take detailed notes. Don't just copy what you see on the board or slides.

4. Recopy your notes. At least go over them with a highlighter.

5. Read the book. Try reading it 3 times. First, scan it briefly before class so you willknow a little bit about the topics. Second, read it in more detail after class and highlight the important concepts. Third, before the exam, reread the highlighted questions.

6. Use flash cards. These are great for key words and concepts.

7. Allow ample time to study. For each hour of class, allow three hours of study time.

8. Earn extra credit. Take advantage of any opportunity to earn extra points.

9. See a tutor.

10. Join a study group. They work because you have to explain the concepts to someone else. If you don't know it, you can't explain it.

This has worked for me so far!!!! Good luck!!!!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056