Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rutax Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 26, 2009, 12:51 PM
    Russian F-1 Student. Federal Tax Exemption based on the US-Russia Tax Treaty?
    Hello,

I'm a Russian graduate student who was in US on an F-1 visa since 2005. In 2005 I had a fellowship, later in 2006 I became a Graduate Student Researcher (research assistant). That paid my tuition and a monthly stipend.

SHORT VERSION:

For years 2006, 2007 I claimed full refund of taxes based on US-Russia Treaty Article 18 (http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-trty/russia.pdf) and got the refund no problem.
    Now I did more research and 70% sure that I should actually pay taxes from my GSR stipend.

QUESTIONS:

1. Am I actually exempt from federal tax based on US-Russia treaty article 18?
    2. If not, what are my options now? Should I file an amendment? Would I have to pay interest, penalties or even face criminal charges?

DETAILED VERSION (IMPORTANT INFORMATION HERE):

I paid taxes from my fellowship in 2006. Later In 2007 I became aware of the tax treaty between US and Russia in particular Article 18 (http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-trty/russia.pdf). I called IRS to clarify it. I took them about 20-30 minutes to figure out the answer. The person on the line (I have their ID number) read the article, asked me questions what is exactly GSR, where does the money come from, whether my school gets the money from some governmental agency grant, which one, whether research is done in the public interest and how long have I been in US. After that they said that I'm exempt from paying tax on my GSR stipend for up to 5 years.
    Then I asked them about my previous payment of taxes on the fellowship and they said I should just file an amendment to the tax return.

So I filed the amendment for 2005 and the tax return for 2006 claiming the full refund. I got the refund for 2006 and about 2 months later I also got the refund for the amended return 2005.