Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Feb 26, 2009, 01:40 AM
    Getting into a law firm - employment
    I am a current paralegal student in the Chicago area and will finish my certification in August. I have a BA in journalism and 20 years of experience working in marketing, sales and communications. My question is this: I would like to find either part or full time work while I am finishing school, which I would hope might develop into a paralegal opportunity (full time) upon my graduation. It appears most firms advertising opportunities are seeking 10 or more years of very direct experience in particular areas of law. How does one break in with that first paralegal job? How do those of you who are attorneys find your paralegal talent? How would you suggest I go about my job search?
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Feb 26, 2009, 11:53 AM

You might want to consider starting as a Legal Secretary at a firm. Once you graduate from paralegal school, the firm may decide to keep you on as a paralegal.
    LisaB4657 Posts: 3,662, Reputation: 534
    Expert

Feb 26, 2009, 11:56 AM
    Twinkie is 100% on the money. In my former firm all of our paralegals were people who started as legal secretaries and were then trained for our purposes. In fact we didn't even require them to become "certified" paralegals. We just trained them and when they were able to take over paralegal responsibilities they were promoted from secretary to paralegal.
    Ultra Member

Feb 26, 2009, 12:01 PM

Thank you. Good advice. Does anyone know of a good resource for finding legal secretary jobs in the Chicago area? I've tried Robert Half and they never respond, and generally I think I might do better if there's an agency that actively places people in these jobs to go through a recruiter. Suggestions?
    Expert

Feb 26, 2009, 12:02 PM