Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JuLee Posts: 47, Reputation: 1

Aug 17, 2006, 11:03 AM
    Credit score increase?
    Hi, question... 3 years ago, I had a credit score of about 580 (college years, ugh, I won't go there). Today, my score is at a 643. I've been paying my bills ontime Every time for 3 years now, even with higher than min payment. Shouldn't my score be a lot higher after 3 years of perfect payments?

I only have one open credit card and a few loans including my mortgage and no other open or unused accounts. Have had collections in the past but all was paid for 3 years ago... Am I still not doing something right? Or what could I do to increase it more and faster ? :confused:
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Aug 17, 2006, 11:27 AM
    I think three years is not enough to wipe the problems you had. Also you don't have much in the way of new credit experience.

Aug 17, 2006, 11:32 AM
    So do you think it would help if I got another credit card or get more loans say for just 4 or 500 and pay them off over some months??

Aug 17, 2006, 11:36 AM
    Yes

Aug 17, 2006, 11:47 AM
    Hmmm... OK thank you. Does being a co-borrower on my husbands loans and store credit cards help or would it be better to get my own?

Aug 17, 2006, 11:56 AM
    They should help some, but if you want to raise your score, credit in your own name will help more.
    LUNAGODDESS Posts: 467, Reputation: 40

Aug 17, 2006, 07:18 PM
    Write a letter and ask the questions and tell them to remove errors... it is not unusual of those agencies that score credit to keep imformation that are out of date... increase income will also help with a credit score...
    dlc Posts: 10, Reputation: 3

Sep 15, 2006, 12:42 PM
    30% of your credit score is based upon how much debt you have.