Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    almostmarried Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2009, 11:17 AM
    Pre-wedding baby
    My fiancé and I are getting married in a couple months, at which point, I plan to switch to his health insurance. (We both have anthem through our jobs, but his company pays more in.) I am a pre-school teacher, and am not planning to go back to my job after the summer, so I will no longer have health benefits through them. I recently found out that I am pregnant, and am wondering if I will have to stay at my current job to keep health insurance, or if I will be able to be covered under my soon to be husband's insurance. I'm worried about the whole pre-existing condition thing. However, his open enrollment for insurance will be after our wedding and before my insurance lapses. I don't know if that makes a difference. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    jkh Posts: 27, Reputation: 6

Feb 20, 2009, 01:50 PM

Oh I am doing this now. I am switching to my husbands insurance in April and am also pregnant. Now I am not a 100% sure on this but I think as long as you do not have a lapse in coverage you can get on your husbands.

I am in the process of trying to get my cobra in line until my husbands insurance starts. Call the insurance company they should be able to tell you, my husbands company was very helpful. Oh and congrats on the baby!
    sunny1ib Posts: 29, Reputation: 2

Mar 9, 2009, 09:15 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by almostmarried View Post