Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cawcat Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 14, 2006, 07:36 PM
    401k early withdrawl
    The plant that I currently work at is closing down. I have a 401(k) that currently has $16,000 in it. I am 48 years old. What kind of penalties am I looking at if I pull all the money out when the plant closes? Approximately how much in taxes will I be paying at the end of the year? I have made $20,000 so far this year. I will also be receiving a pension buyout from the company where I have been for fourteen years. I need the money to pay off my high credit card debt and also to pay for school.
    LUNAGODDESS Posts: 467, Reputation: 40

Aug 14, 2006, 08:18 PM
    No Penalities If You Move (rollover) 401(k) To An Ira... go To Your Bank... but It Depends On The Plan Administor...
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Aug 15, 2006, 07:31 AM
    I am not an expert on this issue. There are others who frequent this forum who will correct any mistakes I have make in this post. I would wait for other replies or seek professional help before you assume what I write here is exactly correct for your situation.