Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shanochano Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 10, 2006, 11:49 AM
    A beginner in Sales
    Hello,

I am new to this website and I am very new to sales. My fiance's aunt created her own mineral-based makeup line called about face by Pamela John. I have recently started to find retail stores such as salons and boutiques to carry her line.

I was wondering what your thoughts were on the best way to reach these stores. I have tried walking in, phone calls, and mailing them a letter. I want to reach them without being annoying.

If anyone has any tips, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you!
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Aug 10, 2006, 12:46 PM
    We've done sales of a completely different product (candles) through some of the outlets you are looking at. We usually sell on consignment.

Samples are a good way to get someone to trust your product. You or your spouse could see if someone at the shop would be willing to meet for a consultation and then give them some product to try, that might help. Make and keep a "preferences" card with the persons name and the things they like... in this case what colors best fit their skin, etc.

Word of mouth sales by people who use the product is a great first start. We honestly built our business up through mostly word of mouth, and in a short time business was coming to us without even trying. Give them some incentives, like free product or discounts when referals come through them and you'll have people selling for you.

You could even start with the people you go to first for hair care. Tell then what you are doing, what you want to do...