Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MarMar27 Posts: 458, Reputation: 7

Jan 13, 2009, 12:39 AM
    Cooking rice
    I love to cook, but sometimes my rice comes out better than others and its so annoying ! Im still learning how to cook, anyone have any suggestions, thanks.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jan 13, 2009, 01:58 AM

Hi, MarMar27!

What kind of rice are you trying to cook and how are you trying to cook it, please? It would be helpful to know that.

Thanks!

Jan 13, 2009, 05:10 PM

Just regular rice I know how to do it, Just It either over cooks or comes out too mushy
    curlybenswife Posts: 2,477, Reputation: 267
    Ultra Member

Jan 14, 2009, 03:31 AM

The trick I find is to stop cooking when the rice has a little bite to it pour it into a collander and rince in cold water if you do not plan on eating it straight away as this stops it cooking any further or in boiling water if your going to serve it as this removes the remaining starch and stops it congieling into a lump.
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463
    Ultra Member

Jan 14, 2009, 10:36 AM

Best advise as given by CBW!
    Draining it is safer than waiting for the rice to congeal or not.

Some types of rice available now have more starch which makes it turn mushy while other types tend to cook well.

Jan 14, 2009, 05:09 PM

Really I've never heard of that, so what did you mean about the boiling water sorry I didn't catch that part?. Yeah it's annoying! That's what I was thinking that maybe it depends on the rice brand.
    walt17 Posts: 335, Reputation: 28

Jan 16, 2009, 11:15 AM
    I have found that the required time varies somewhat. "Blame it on the Humidity" is a tip I learned some years ago from a TV chef. (Rice and Bread)