Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TTHOMPSONMANGINA Posts: 7, Reputation: 3

Jul 20, 2006, 10:21 AM
    Motorcycle Theft Prevention Need A Gps
    Hi.. I have a 04 suzuki gsxr 750 with a lot of extras.. I don't have a garage and I have to park my bike on the street or in my back yard which is very accessible.. I'm hoping that someone can help me with finding a reliable, cheap, real time gps that doesn't have a monthly fee.. I've been checking eBay but there are so many and I have no experience with any of them.. I live on the east coast and lojack is very popular but its very expensive.. plus with lojack the police go and locate your property.. I would much rather find the clowns myself and let the police pick up the pieces.. :) my neighbor has had two bikes stolen in the past 6 months right across the street from me.. I had a dream my bike got stolen last night.. please help because I don't want to have my bike stolen next.. thanks for your time..
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jul 20, 2006, 11:17 AM
    Man, that really stinks... but here's the scoop:

Lojack (and there may be others that provide this service) does NOTHING to protect you from having the bike stolen. It only helps you recover it if it IS stolen.. . and there is nothing like that service that is reliable and cheap.

If it can't be parked in a garage, the only 2nd best way to prevent theft is to lock it, with a thick chain, to something immovable like a light pole, huge tree, etc... but of course neither is a 100% guarantee.

... sorry to be passing along news that's half what you don't want to hear and half what you already know.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 20, 2006, 11:55 AM
    Lo Jack is what you want, the last thing you want to do is be in jail for hurting the thieves ( yes that is what they do, then the thieves sue you for hurting them) Welcome to American justice.