Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pixiegurl2 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 3, 2009, 12:04 PM
    What do you do if your boss is taking your tips?
    I work at a restaurant and we get our tips weekly. What my boss does is supposedly "split" the tips we get from the week before to each employee. We have a piece of paper that has all the employees name on it and the hostess writes the times we work for the days that each one works and that's how we're "supposed" to be getting our tips. Since it's winter, we aren't that busy and my boss has been blaming us employees for not having good business due to our customer service. I've been working there for 2 years and the restaurant has been opened for 11 years; he knows that in winter time we're not busy. I work 4 days a week and my tips have gotten lower along with my other co-workers. We can't say anything to our boss because all he'll say is "we're not busy so that's why your tips are low" or because "you did nothing while you were working" or "don't complain because it's the employees fault that we don't have good service." My sister was the manager of the place, but quit a few months ago and told me that my boss "splits" the tips according to who he favors most to who he doesn't favor as much; so pretty much a rank. He doesn't go accordingly to the days the employees work and how many hours he works. She has also told me that he takes some of the tips that we've earned to himself also. None of us can say anything. My boss also has a very short temper and he screams and yells a lot at some of us because we're not doing anything right or because we're not doing anything; supposedly "there is always something to do" when really there isn't. Another thing is that he gets angry when some of these employees who are Mongolian speak constantly in their own language to each other, and one day, he smacked a girl behind her head just because she spoke Mongolian when she should be speaking English. What can we do or who