Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Helen Roberts Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 25, 2008, 03:41 PM
    Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
    I am a new homeowner and need to manually operate the temperature-pressure relief valve on my water heater. How long do I open the valve for? Will water come out of the pipe? I'm new to this.

Thank you,

Helen
    andrewc24301 Posts: 374, Reputation: 29

Dec 25, 2008, 05:20 PM

Just pull up on the handle.

And if it hasn't been operated in a while, a good shot of muddy HOT water will likley spew out of it.

FYI when you do this, I'd do it when a hardware store is open in case the valve doesn't close properly and leaks there after.

Which is why I normally don't pull the handle on them unless I have to.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Dec 25, 2008, 07:15 PM

Helen, this is not something folks should be doing. Why are you doing this? That valve is a safety valve and once you open it there is a slight chance it will not completetly seal. If you must drain or flush your tank you use the drain spigot at the bottom of the tank. Please tell us what you are doing and why.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 25, 2008, 10:11 PM

Moved to plumbing
    afaroo Posts: 4,006, Reputation: 251
    Ultra Member

Dec 26, 2008, 01:53 AM

Hi Helen,

I agree with ballengerb1 (Bob) you don't open this valve, but some manufacturers recommend to open this valve while you are draining your water heater other wise no touch,we don't recommend to open this valve, please answer to Bob's question, Thanks.

Regards,
    John

Dec 30, 2008, 01:40 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengerb1 View Post