Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    knowidon'tknow Posts: 16, Reputation: 3

Jul 10, 2006, 06:37 AM
    Timer For Aboveground Pool Pump
    Hi! I am a pool novice. I have a frameset aboveground pool with a cheesy pump - 1/16 HP, 120V. It's plugged into a heavy duty garage outlet, but it's not clear if it's a GFCI. What kind of pump timer can I use that is safe and inexpensive, possibly GFCI? Thanks!
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jul 10, 2006, 09:29 AM
    1. The pool experience I have is with the pump running 24/7. Does yours only run at certain times - or on for a period and off for a period?

2. As for the pump itself, you don't want to get just any pump... you want to be sure to get one that is designed for the volume of your pool. Check with a local pool supply co. to confirm what's recommended for your pool.

3. GFCI is a designation of the outlet, not the pump. The pool-pump I last dealt with was plugged into a regular outlet, not GFCI... but I'm not positive if this is considered correct... you might ask the local pool guy this question too. If he says it needs plugged into a GFCI outlet, then that's easy. The outlet will cost you about $10 and anyone with a screwdriver can install it.

Hope that at least helps a little...

Jul 10, 2006, 10:56 AM
    Hiya, rickj! The pump came with the pool - a $200(!) Intex frame-set pool 14' diameter by 48". I get it that it's the outlet that would have the GFCI, but online I did see a timer that said it had its own built-in GFCI. I thought this might be a way to add safety. The pump specs say the motor can't handle running 24/7, and my folks are unreliable about plugging it in and out. I don't know how to match a timer the specs of the motor - is it voltage, hp, or what? And do I need a fancy one, or will one of those Radio shack Xmas light outdoor timers do? Thanks again!
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jul 10, 2006, 11:08 AM
    Oh, I see now.